- Press <> NBA Boards <> Advertise <> About US <> Write for us <> HOME -

> General NBA info
> Awards
> Records
> Stats
> Player Facts
> Team Facts
> Other Leagues
> Message Board

PAC 12 Conference Basketball History


2010 before expansion


Pac 12 Champions
Tournament Appearances

National Championships 1917 Washington State
1937 Stanford
1939 Oregon
1942 Stanford
1944 Utah*
1959 California
1964 UCLA
1965 UCLA
1967 UCLA
1968 UCLA
1969 UCLA
1970 UCLA
1971 UCLA
1972 UCLA
1973 UCLA
1975 UCLA
1995 UCLA
1997 Arizona

National Runners-Up
1941 Washington State
1960 California
1998 Utah *
2001 Arizona
2006 UCLA

Final Fours by school
4 Arizona
4 Utah*
3 California
2 Colorado
2 Oregon State
2 Stanford
1 Oregon
1 Washington
1 Washington State
0 Arizona State

* Utah's came before they joined the PAC 12

Founded:           1915
Members:           12
National Titles:   18   
                   1 title was retroactively given (WSU 1917)
                   1 title was not as a Pac-12 Member (Utah 1944)
First Title:       1917 Washington State
Last Title:        1997 Arizona

School Location Founded Joined Type Enrollment Arena Capacity
Arizona Wildcats Tucson, Arizona 1885 1978 Public 40,223 McKale Center 14,655
Arizona State Sun Devils Tempe, Arizona 1885 1978 Public 59,794 Wells Fargo Arena 10,754
California Golden Bears Berkeley, California 1868 1915 Public 36,142 Haas Pavilion 11,877
UCLA Bruins Los Angeles, California 1882 1928 Public 40,675 Coors Events Center 11,064
Coloraod Buffaloes Boulder, Colorado 1876 2011 Public 31,702 Matthew Knight Arena 12,346
Oregon Ducks Eugene, Oregon 1876 1915 Public 24,447 Gill Coliseum 9,604
Oregon State Beavers Corvallis, Oregon 1868 1915 Public 28,886 Maples Pavilion 7,233
USC Trojans Los Angeles, California 1880 1922 Private 38,010 Pauley Pavilion 13,800
Stanford Cardinal Stanford, California 1891 1918 Private 16,795 Galen Center 10,258
Utah Utes Salt Lake City, Utah 1850 2011 Public 32,388 Jon M. Huntsman Center 15,000
Washington Huskies Seattle, Washington 1861 1915 Public 43,762 Hec Edmundson Pavilion 10,000
Washington State Cougars Pullman, Washington 1890 1917 Public 21,406 Beasley Coliseum 11,671

The Pac 12 conference is one of the most success conferences in basketball history. The conference schools lay claim to 18 Nation titles and 5 National Finals runner-up appearances, as well as 39 final four appearances since 1939. UCLA has the most titles of any school in college basketball with 11, and is tied for 2nd most final four appearances with 17. Utah and Arizona are next with 4 final four appearances, though none of Utah's have come as a member of the Pac-12. 11 of the 12 members have made at least 1 final four appearance, the lone team not to make the final four is Arizona State. 7 of the 12 member schools have also won national titles with the last one coming in 1997 with Arizona.

The Pac-12 began in 1915 as the Pacific Coast Conference with Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and California. Two years after its inception, in 1917, it expanded again to add Washington State and the next year it added Stanford. In 1922 the PCC added Idaho and Southern California(USC) but USC was suspended for a season 2 years after it joined and was replaced with Montana. USC rejoined the next season and three years later cross town rival University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) joined as well brining the total membership to 10 school.

The PCC prided itself on high academic standard and good moral character of its member schools and staff, but this high level brought a lot of animosity and ultimately lead to the conference unraveling. The California schools looked unfavorable on the Northwest schools, especially the two Oregon schools, because they felt like they were not keeping up with the conferences goals of academic superiority. Several times through out the 1930s and 40s the California schools threatened to leave and start a new conference, though they never followed through with this threat.

In the early 1950s the conference was rocked by scandal. in 1951 Oregon's football coach was caught violating the conference code for financial aid and athletic subsidies and forced to resign, and the conference began looking at other schools as well.

in 1956 the scandal began public and several schools were implicated in the financial subsidies scandal as well as other academic scandals and the conference began to fall apart. First, UCLA and California left the conference. By 1959 the conference had dissolved and 3 former members, USC, Stanford, and Washington, joined with Cal and UCLA to form the Athletic Association of Western Universities (AAWU). in 1962 the AAWU allowed in Washington and in 1964 allowed in both the Oregon schools. Idaho did not seek membership and became an independent. Montana had left the conference in 1950 and was not involved in the scandal.

Following the scandal the conference settled down and by the 1960s the animosity between the schools had died down. in 1968 the AAWU renamed itself the Pacific 8 Conference (PAC 8) and had cemented itself as the premier athletic conference in the western United States.

The conference expanded again in 1978 by adding Arizona and Arizona state and changing its name to the PAC 10 conference. The conference would go another 33 years before it expanded again when in 2011 it brought in Colorado and Utah and became the PAC 12 conference.