- Press <> NBA Boards <> Advertise <> About US <> Write for us <> HOME -

> General NBA info
> Awards
> Records
> Stats
> Player Facts
> Team Facts
> Other Leagues
> Message Board

Atlantic Coast Conference Basketball History

Basketball only logo






ACC Tournament
National Championships
1924-North Carolina
1927-Norte Dame*
1936 Norte Dame*
1957-North Carolina
1974-North Carolina St.
1982-North Carolina
1983-North Carolina St.
1993-North Carolina
2005-North Carolina
2009-North Carolina
2017-North Carolina

National Runners-Up
1946-North Carolina
1968-North Carolina
1972-Florida St.
1977-North Carolina
1981-North Carolina
2004-Georgia Tech
2016-North Carolina

Final Fours by school
20-North Carolina
3-North Carolina St.
2-Georgia Tech
1-Norte Dame*
1-Florida St.
1-Wake Forrest

* Occurred prior to joining ACC
# Has appearances before and as a member of ACC

Founded: 1953
Members: 15
National Titles: 23
2 titles were retroactively given (Syracuse 1918, UNC 1924)
7 titles won before NCAA tournament
First Title: 1918 Syracuse
First title as ACC: 1957 North Carolina Last Title: 2017 North Carolina

School Location Founded Years in the ACC Enrollment Arena Capacity
Boston College Eagles Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts 1863 2005–present 14,500 Conte Forum 8,606
Clemson Tigers Clemson, South Carolina 1889 1953–present 17,165 Littlejohn Coliseum 10,000
Duke Blue Devils Durham, North Carolina 1838 1953–present 6,247 Cameron Indoor Stadium 9,314
Florida State Seminoles Tallahassee, Florida 1851 1991–present 38,886 Donald L. Tucker Center 13,800
Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets Atlanta, Georgia 1885 1978–present 19,393 Hank McCamish Pavilion 8,600
Louisville Cardinals Louisville, Kentucky 1798 2014–present 23,262 KFC Yum! Center 22,090
Miami Hurricanes Coral Gables, Florida 1925 2004–present 15,520 BankUnited Center 7,972
North Carolina Tar Heels Chapel Hill, North Carolina 1789 1953–present 26,878 Dean Smith Center 21,750
NC State Wolfpack Raleigh, North Carolina 1887 1953–present 29,957 PNC Arena 19,722
Notre Dame Fighting Irish South Bend, Indiana 1842 2013–present 11,733 Edmund P. Joyce Center 9,149
Pittsburgh Panthers Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 1787 2013–present 28,823 Petersen Events Center 12,508
Syracuse Orange Syracuse, New York 1870 2013–present 20,407 Carrier Dome 35,446
Virginia Cavaliers Charlottesville, Virginia 1819 1953–present 20,399 John Paul Jones Arena 14,593
Virginia Tech Hokies Blacksburg, Virginia 1872 2004–present 28,000 Cassell Coliseum 9,847
Wake Forest Demon Deacons Winston-Salem, North Carolina 1834 1953–present 6,451 Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum 14,407

The ACC was created in 1953 when 7 schools from the Southern Conference, upset at the conferences post season ban on football, joined together and formed a new conference. All the schools where from the South Atlantic States region based around the Carolina's. The schools met in 1953 in Greensboro, NC to set up a series of bylaws by which to govern their conference.

The original 7 members where Duke, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Clemson, Maryland, South Carolina and Wake Forrest. Shortly before starting as a conference the members voted to allow an 8th member, Virginia, to join; previously Virginia had been independent since 1937. The conference began play in 1954 and stayed at 8 members until 1971 when South Carolina joined the SEC. The conference stood at 7 teams until 1978 when it added George Tech.

The conference grew in notoriety in the 1970s and 1980s as Duke, North Carolina, and North Carolina State became national powers. With the rise in popularity of the NBA at the same time the ACC became a hot bed of action as many former players went on to become stars in the NBA, the most notable of these being North Carolina's Michael Jordan.

in 1991 the ACC added Florida State. The 1990s also seen Duke become the first team since UCLA to win back-to-back titles. The 90s were a good era for the conference as it captured three straight national titles in 1991, 1992 and 1993.

In 2005 the ACC controversially added 3 teams from the Big East; Miami, Virginia Tech and Boston College. The additions became embroiled in a lawsuit as former members of the Big East sued. The legal dispute was settled and the 3 schools were allowed to join the conference.

The 2010 realignment affected the ACC as Pittsburgh, Norte Dame, and Syracuse all joined the conference. Founding school Maryland also left the ACC to join the Big Ten leaving the conference with its 15 members it has today.