San Diego Rockets 1967-71

Houston Rockets 1971-72



Houston Rockets HISTORY

Player info
Award Winners
Numerical Roster
Team info
Expansion draft
Draft picks
Playoff Results
Season Records


Quick facts:

Founded:                    1967
Arena:                      Toyota Center
Division Championships:     5(1977, 1986, 1993, 1994, 2015)
Midwest Division            4(1977, 1986, 1993, 1994)
Southwest Division          1(2015)
Conference Titles           4(1981, 1986, 1993, 1994)
NBA Titles:                 2(1994, 1995)
Playoffs:                   29

Name History:
The Rockets originally began in San Diego, California in 1967. In the 1960s the Space Age and Space Race was on every American's mind, and San Diego played a key part in the race. Many space firms sprung up in and around San Diego, so the ownership of the team chose the name Rockets to reflect this burgeoning industry.

In 1971 the Rockets relocated to Houston and the name stuck because it fit better in Houston than it did in San Diego. Houston is home to NASA's Mission Control center and still plays a major part in American space advancements today.






  • More NBA History
  • Clutch Fans