Toledo Jeeps logo

>NBA History > NBL History >

Toledo Jeeps

Founded:  1946
Folded:   1948
Location: Toledo, OH
Arena:    Toledo Field House 
Built in:
Capacity: 6,000
Titles:   0

The Jeeps like many teams in the NBL had a corperate sponsor. The Jeeps were named after the Willys Jeep plant, which was located in Toledo.

The 1946-47 the Jeeps featured players such as Chips Sobek, Hal Tidrick, Jule Rivlin and Paul Seymour. They went 21-23 and qualified for the playoffs, where they lost to the Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons. They would, however, be invited to the 1947 World Professional Basketball Tournament, where they finished 2nd.

In 1947-48, Sobek, Tidrick and Rivlin returned, and were joined by Dick Mehen and Harry Boykoff. The Jeeps finished with a record of 22-37 and missed the playoffs. The 1948 season proved to be the Jeeps' last; they were replaced for the NBL's final campaign with the Waterloo Hawks, who inherited Mehen and Boykoff.


Year    W   L   %    Playoffs  W  L   %
46-47   21  23  .477           2  3   .400
47-48   22  37  .372           -  -
Total   43  60  .417           2  3   .400

The uniform of Francis Curran from 1947-48

Oshkosh vs Toledo program

Hal Tidrick

Jeeps Players

George Sobek

Game Program for a game between Chicago American Gears and Toledo Jeeps

A couple of newspaper clippings about the Jeeps.
The first one from 11/12/47 and the second from 5/3/1947. Both are from the Toledo Blade.

John Schick

Bob Davies goes for a layup vs the Jeeps