New Jersey Americans 1967-68(ABA)

New York Nets 68-72

New York Nets 72-77

New Jersey Nets 77-90

New Jersey Nets 90-97


Brooklyn Nets 12-
Brooklyn Nets HISTORY

Player info
Team info
Season Records and Playoffs


Quick facts:

Founded:                  1967  
Arena:                    Barclays Center
Ownership:                Mikhail Prokhorov, principal (80%)
                          Bruce Ratner, minority
Division Championships:   4 NBA Atlantic(02,03,04,06)
                          2 ABA (74,75)
NBA Titles:               NONE
ABA Titles:                2 (74,76)
Playoffs:                 19 NBA
                           7 ABA
                          26 Total

Why the Nets?
The New Jersey Americans were charter members of the ABA in 1967. The team moved to Commack, N.Y., the following year and changed its name to New York Nets, after one of the most important parts of the basketball game -- the net.

Also, Nets rhymed with other New York sports franchises, baseball’s Mets and football’s Jets. Before joining the NBA in 1977, the team returned to the Garden State, kept its nickname and became the New Jersey Nets

Looking for a Home:
The Nets have always been in the same geographic area their entire history, yet they have almost become the nomads of the NBA. Since 1967 the Nets have moved 8 times in and around the New York metropolitan area.

They began as the New Jersey Americans in Teaneck, New Jersey during their first ABA season. The following season they moved to Commack, New York and the season after that to West Hempstead, New York. They have also been located in Uniondale, NY and Piscataway, East Rutherford and Newark, New Jersey before moving to Brooklyn

By contrast the other NBA teams with state names in their name, Golden State, Indiana, Minnesota, and Utah, have not left their established cities; though the Warriors did play a season in San Jose while arena renovations were underway.


NBA Hoops Online